Poinsettias

Sunday, 3rd November 2013 at 1:29 pm Leave a comment

I wasn’t happy with the last poinsettia I made. I was to begin with, but decided I must be able to do better. I was trying to make a flower, but poinsettias are leaves – I’ve always known this, so what was I thinking?! I spent a frustrating few hours hooking and unravelling and eventually came up with this.

Poinsettia (2)

Please don’t tell me someone else has already created this pattern 😀 I’m no pattern writer, so I hope this makes sense.  Sorry it’s so spread out – I copied it from Word and it created all the extra lines, which I can’t get rid of.

RED

Chain 6, slip stitch into 2nd chain from hook then slip stitch down to the bottom – you should have 5 stitches.

Starting on the right of the stem –

htr

tr

htr

dc

dc

ch 2, sl st into second ch from hook

Going down the left of the stem –

dc

dc

htr

tr

htr, sl st

Repeat 4 times.

Sl st into the bottom of the first leaf.

This will give you a ring of 5 leaves.

GREEN

The same as red leaves but don’t sl st at the end of each leaf. Leaving out the sl st means the ring of green is slightly larger than the red.

Sew the two rings together, making sure the green leaves sit between the red.

For the middle, I used pale yellow yarn. It’s just 2 ch then 7 dc into a magic ring, leave a long tail when you finish and use it to sew on.

I made one by starting with a ring and growing it from there, but it was a bit too curly. I could’ve blocked it if I’d used different yarn, but try as I might I can’t block acrylic.

Curly poinsettia

Entry filed under: Crochet. Tags: , .

Busy Hooks Poppy Yarn Bomb

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


MollyBean on Facebook

Blog Stats

  • 7,035 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 114 other followers

Calendar

November 2013
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

