Square Blanket

Wednesday, 15th January 2014 at 10:24 am 4 comments

I’ve run out of one of the colours for my cushion cover. I promised myself I wouldn’t buy any yarn this month, so it’s been put to one side for now. We’re only halfway through January, I absolutely cannot go two weeks without picking up a hook. So I’ve started a new blanket.

When I first started crocheting (just over a year ago), I practiced A LOT. Mostly I would make chains of twenty, practice a stitch for a few rows then unravel them and try another stitch. One day I sat and made a few small squares – just one round – and thought they looked cute so I kept them in a jar. I tipped them out a few days ago, they’re not the neatest things ever made, lol. You can see where I’ve joined the round – I seem to have created an extra stitch πŸ˜€ I think I’ve managed to cover it up quite well.

KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA

I added a round in cream

KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA

Then another in grey

KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA

More cream

KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA

I just need to join them now, then I can start lots of rounds. I’m not sure how big it’s going to be yet.

Entry filed under: Crochet. Tags: , .

Happy New Year! No Unravelling Allowed

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. The Snail of Happiness  |  Wednesday, 15th January 2014 at 2:10 pm

    I love your tray of squares… it looks like a framed work of art!

    Reply
    • 2. MollyBean  |  Wednesday, 15th January 2014 at 5:36 pm

      Thank you πŸ˜€ I think that’s the best it’s going to look – I’ve been joining the squares and I’m really not very good at it!

      Reply
  • 3. thegrangerange.wordpress.com  |  Wednesday, 15th January 2014 at 8:59 pm

    This is what I love so much about our craft, you make something, then leave it to one side for an age. Then one day you are inspired to turn it into something. Your blanket is lovely, great colours. I have made cushions with the test squares I made when deciding on patterns for a blanket.

    Reply
    • 4. MollyBean  |  Sunday, 19th January 2014 at 2:10 pm

      Thanks. I love the colours, just wish I cold join properly! I’ll make a few granny squares next time, joining as I go, hopefully it’ll be neater than this attempt!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


MollyBean on Facebook

Blog Stats

  • 7,009 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 116 other followers

Calendar

January 2014
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

