Blanket For Dad

Thursday, 1st May 2014 at 11:48 am 14 comments

My dad is a builder. He retired a couple of years ago so that should read was a builder. But he’s kept his kit and is always on the lookout for a project and if anyone he knows is building a wall/putting up a fence/constructing a shelving unit, he’s there offering (begging?!!) to help. All he wants in return is an endless supply of tea and some toast 😀

He hasn’t yet – and probably never will – managed to have a lie-in, he’s awake by 5.30am every day. At this time of year, he says the house gets stuffy if he puts the heating on but it’s a bit chilly in the mornings. So I joked that I’d make him a blanket for when he has his early morning cup of tea, not really thinking that he’d want one, he’s not a blanket-type person. He said yes please. I started one then realised how close his birthday was and thought it’d make a nice present. But I ran out of grey yarn so I went online and ordered more, it arrived this morning.

I’m using Parchment, Silver, Grey, Graphite and Denim.

KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA
This is it right now, I have three days to finish it so please send Speediness Vibes my way 😀

KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA

Entry filed under: Blankets, Crochet, Yarn. Tags: , , .

Happy Things In April Just In Time

14 Comments Add your own

  • 1. The Snail of Happiness  |  Thursday, 1st May 2014 at 12:30 pm

    Oooh, you’re going to have to crochet like the wind! Good luck with that x

    Reply
    • 2. MollyBean  |  Saturday, 3rd May 2014 at 6:13 am

      I need luck! Current wind speed – light to moderate breeze. lol

      Reply
  • 3. esthermarie1985  |  Thursday, 1st May 2014 at 1:02 pm

    I love the colours. And I wish I could crochet that fast! I’m making a blanket at them moment and it is taking ages. I suppose it doesn’t help that I’m always distracted by other projects though…

    Reply
    • 4. MollyBean  |  Saturday, 3rd May 2014 at 6:17 am

      I’m not that fast, I’m just ignoring everything else! I could do with a hand with the housework. And garden. 😀

      Reply
  • 5. lovelucie1  |  Thursday, 1st May 2014 at 2:02 pm

    Such a personal present. It’s not often we get to craft for the men in our lives. Really lovely

    Reply
    • 6. MollyBean  |  Saturday, 3rd May 2014 at 6:20 am

      It does make a nice change to work with manly colours 😀 For some reason I really want to throw a bit of red into this, but I know he’d prefer the grey and blue.

      Reply
  • 7. Nadine Roberts  |  Thursday, 1st May 2014 at 9:54 pm

    I love the colors!! Light and masculine. He won’t mind if it is a little late. It will be worth it to him.

    Reply
    • 8. MollyBean  |  Saturday, 3rd May 2014 at 6:26 am

      I’ve bought a few geraniums for his garden pots so if I’m not quite finished he’ll still have a present to open on his birthday. I’ll take a photo of the blanket as it is, show him and tell him I’ll be back in a couple of days 😀

      Reply
  • 9. Hetterbell  |  Saturday, 3rd May 2014 at 8:22 am

    Good luck! I know that feeling of a mad rush all too well. I’ve just finished making a doll for a birthday present and I was finishing it on the day! Your blanket looks great, and it sounds like it’s exactly what your Dad wants. You’ll get it done. 🙂

    Reply
    • 10. MollyBean  |  Sunday, 4th May 2014 at 7:31 am

      I’m not enjoying the last minute rush! It’s 7.30am and I’ve just finished the last round 😀

      Reply
      • 11. Hetterbell  |  Sunday, 4th May 2014 at 8:19 am

        Yay! Well done! 🙂

      • 12. Hetterbell  |  Sunday, 4th May 2014 at 8:19 am

        He’ll love it!

  • 13. Moke  |  Sunday, 4th May 2014 at 8:37 am

    Sounds like the speediness vibes worked – well done! The colours are perfect. Moke

    Reply
  • 14. MollyBean  |  Sunday, 4th May 2014 at 9:46 am

    Thanks everyone! xx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


MollyBean on Facebook

Blog Stats

  • 7,009 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 116 other followers

Calendar

May 2014
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

