Just In Time

Sunday, 4th May 2014 at 8:11 am 12 comments

My neck is aching from spending hours looking down (I can’t turn my head to the left at the moment!) but I’ve managed to finish dad’s blanket with just a couple of hours to spare. Thanks for the lovely comments about this blanket on my last post xx

My squares are neat and untwisty until I do the joining round, then they twist. Why do they do that? It’s not because of the size, it happens no matter what size I make them – neatness, until I join. At least they’ve all twisted evenly 😀 Here’s the blanket yesterday morning, just after I’d done two rounds of the border then ripped them out because I decided it needed to be five squares wide, not four

KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA

I was crocheting the final round of the border at 7am this morning (I now have pins and needles!), here it is half an hour later.  The light’s not great at the moment but I couldn’t wait to take a photo!  I’m not sure about the size, it’s 46″ x 36″ so it’ll be ideal for a lap blanket.  If he’d prefer it a bit bigger I’ll bring it back home with me and work on it.  Slowly 😀

KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA

The edges look a bit ruffled, I promise they’re not 😀

KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA 

I’m taking dad to the pub after I’ve been to his house.  Because I need a drink 😀

I can now eat and sleep, and I should probably catch up with the washing, hoovering, dusting, gardening…….

Entry filed under: Blankets, Crochet, Family, Uncategorized, Yarn. Tags: , , , .

Blanket For Dad New Windows

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Moke  |  Sunday, 4th May 2014 at 8:42 am

    Superb. You were right about the five squares across it was worth the extra effort and I am soooo in awe of you keeping going I’d have given up way back. Moke

    Reply
    • 2. MollyBean  |  Monday, 5th May 2014 at 8:12 am

      Thanks xx The thing that kept me going was my extreme stubbornness 😀

      Reply
  • 3. Nadine Roberts  |  Sunday, 4th May 2014 at 12:56 pm

    I agree 4 would have been too narrow. I had the same thing with the blanket I made. You don’t want it too big but you don’t want them wishing it was bigger.
    If it is not quite as big as he likes I would just continue the border, repeating what you have now. BTW my husband does like the colors.

    Reply
    • 4. MollyBean  |  Monday, 5th May 2014 at 8:23 am

      I was annoyed at the time, but I’m glad now that I altered it. I’ve told dad I have plenty of yarn and I’ll be cross with him if he isn’t completely honest about the size 😀 He says it’s perfect as it is but as I’ve insisted, he’ll test it for a couple of days then give me his verdict! lol

      Reply
  • 5. bmary  |  Monday, 5th May 2014 at 4:00 pm

    Beautiful blanket! I love the colors.

    Reply
    • 6. MollyBean  |  Monday, 5th May 2014 at 4:02 pm

      Thanks 😀

      Reply
  • 7. lovelucie1  |  Tuesday, 6th May 2014 at 1:28 pm

    Really lovely. A great speedy make!

    Reply
    • 8. MollyBean  |  Wednesday, 7th May 2014 at 6:15 am

      Thanks 🙂

      Reply
  • 9. E.C.  |  Thursday, 8th May 2014 at 6:31 am

    The colors are great and you did a wonderful job on it. I know your Dad’s probably proud to have such a handsome gift made from your heart (& neck and hands and patience.)

    Reply
    • 10. MollyBean  |  Thursday, 8th May 2014 at 7:08 am

      Thank you 🙂

      Reply
  • 11. Hetterbell  |  Friday, 9th May 2014 at 6:32 pm

    Well done for getting it finished, it looks great! 🙂

    Reply
    • 12. MollyBean  |  Saturday, 10th May 2014 at 10:26 am

      Thanks 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


MollyBean on Facebook

Blog Stats

  • 7,035 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 114 other followers

Calendar

May 2014
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

