Elderflower Champagne

Wednesday, 28th May 2014 at 9:26 am 4 comments

Here’s the recipe

Day one

KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA

I planned on taking a photo every day to show how quickly it ferments.  Days two and three looked exactly the same as day one so I deleted the photos from my camera and didn’t bother with days four and five.  I think the water may have been too hot and the yeast was killed off.  A quick dash to the local shop soon fixed that, a pinch of dried yeast and 24 hours later, it was back on track.  We have 13 bottles of lovely fizz (12 1/2 now – well I had to do a taste test!).  I’m still worried about explosions so the bottles are in a strong box on sturdy shelving.  At least if we have another disaster, damage will be contained 😀

KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA

This post is much shorted than planned, it needs more photos!  Here’s a few more of the garden.

The mint was spreading like wildfire, so we dug it up and got rid of most of it, saving some to keep in a pot

KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA

Our first broad bean!

KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA

The blueberry bush, which hasn’t grown since we bought it last year.  I’ve counted, we should get nine berries! lol

KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA

A butterfly (or is it a moth?) on the wild flower leaves

KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA

Busy bee

KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA

Entry filed under: Garden, Homemade. Tags: , .

Around The Garden Happy Things In May

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Nadine Roberts  |  Wednesday, 28th May 2014 at 11:39 am

    Good idea about putting this in a sturdy box. I made the mistake of storing some wine in the bottom of my closet when I was 8 months pregnant. That stuff when off like a rocket during the night. What a mess for me to clean up as big as I was!

    Reply
    • 2. MollyBean  |  Wednesday, 28th May 2014 at 5:53 pm

      We used to keep ours in a kitchen cupboard. One night I heard what I thought was a bomb or something – sounds a bit dramatic but you know how things sound so much louder at 2am 😀 I had no idea how far two bottles of fizz could spread, even with the cupboard doors closed! The latest batch is outside, I don’t even trust it in the shed 😀

      Reply
  • 3. *Wisher*  |  Wednesday, 28th May 2014 at 4:01 pm

    i love love love your garden and the interesting visitors buzzing by…
    I’m not sure if the Elderflower Champagne is a summery drink or is it for health benefits.. but I would love to learn more from you..

    (BTW.. does the Elderflower syrup do the trick too?? cos at where I am I can get the Elderflower syrup from IKEA. Hope to hear from you soon) 😉

    Reply
    • 4. MollyBean  |  Wednesday, 28th May 2014 at 7:45 pm

      Thank you 🙂

      I drink it for the flavour and the alcohol 😀 Elderflowers are only in bloom for a few weeks each year so grab them while you can! You can leave the bottles for a few months before drinking, but I’ve never managed to keep them that long……. Leave some flowers behind, in the autumn they’re replaced with elderberries which make nice wine.

      You can make syrup at home too, it’s even easier than the champagne. It’s a popular drink but I’m not keen on it myself so don’t bother making it.

      I don’t think there are any health benefits, apart from making me giggly 😀

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


MollyBean on Facebook

Blog Stats

  • 7,035 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 114 other followers

Calendar

May 2014
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

