Yarn Disappointment

Monday, 28th July 2014 at 9:11 am 5 comments

I was at my favourite stall at the indoor market buying beads and trying to ignore the yarn (very difficult!). I couldn’t help looking at the cotton though, I’ve never used cotton yarn and I’ve been meaning to try it. I picked up a ball of Teddy Cleopatra 100% cotton DK. I may have just been very unlucky but I wasn’t happy with it. It had two fluffy ruffly bits (not sure that’s the technical term for it, lol), each around three inches long. There were also four joins. I’ve had the occasional ball of yarn with a join, but it’s usually very small and neat – these looked like someone had tied double knots and not trimmed the ends off. Just as well I’d only bought it to practice 😀

I started making a circle and after two rounds, realised my usual hook size for DK (3.5 or 4) was too small, the circle wasn’t going to lie flat. I did one more round then stopped – this would make a useful face scrubbie.

SAMSUNG

Then I made a square. I stopped after five rounds because it seemed the perfect size for a potholder. We have a hob kettle and Mr MB is always complaining that the handle gets too hot. When he arrived home from work, I presented him with this wonderful gift, pretending that I’d made it with him in mind 😀 I still need to add a loop to hang it.

SAMSUNG

I won’t be buying any more of this particular brand after finding all those knots and ruffles. To use it up, I’ll make another potholder and some more scrubbies.

Entry filed under: Crochet, Yarn. Tags: , .

More Of The Same Happy Things In July

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Nadine Roberts  |  Monday, 28th July 2014 at 12:21 pm

    At least you got something useful made out of it. Now you will know not to buy that for a big project. I like most cotton yarns I use but they feel better after they have been washed.

    Reply
    • 2. MollyBean  |  Monday, 28th July 2014 at 3:24 pm

      Thanks Nadine. I haven’t washed these yet but do like the feel of them already. Will definitely buy cotton again, just a different brand 😀

      Reply
  • 3. lucyannluna  |  Monday, 28th July 2014 at 6:33 pm

    Knotted ends in balls of yarn really do get me, the more expensive the more it annoys me. I try to use a good / medium quality for cotton. Although I find cotton can be prone to splitting as you crochet with it.

    Reply
    • 4. MollyBean  |  Wednesday, 30th July 2014 at 8:52 am

      Thanks 🙂 Apart from me having to adjust tension/hook size, this was nice to work with and didn’t split. That makes the knots even more annoying! I’ll have a hunt around for small balls of other brands to test them out.

      Reply
      • 5. lucyannluna  |  Wednesday, 30th July 2014 at 11:47 am

        I hate knotty yarn too, crochet cotton is probably the worst.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


MollyBean on Facebook

Blog Stats

  • 7,035 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 114 other followers

Calendar

July 2014
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

