Still Exhausted!

Wednesday, 27th May 2015 at 12:54 pm 11 comments

I can’t believe it’s been over a month since my last post! I also haven’t read anyone else’s posts, though it’s not through lack of trying. I have kept up with a forum I’ve used for years – I sneak on there first thing in the morning, while the house is quiet and Scampi Dog is still dozing. Once everyone’s gone off to work, I do a bit of housework, walk the dog, more housework, play with the dog, then he lies down for a sleep. I make a coffee and just as I sit down to drink it and log in here, he’s up again 😀

Dog training was two steps forwards and one step back for a while, which I expected, then a local cat decided to spend most of her time in next door’s front garden, in full view of my hall window. Scampi kicks off when he sees any cat, but he really hates this one and stands at the window and barks and barks and barks……. He forgets everything he’s been taught when he spots this cat and he’s wound up for hours afterwards, he spends the rest of the day going to the window to see if the cat’s there. It’s like all that training hasn’t happened. I can’t block his access to this window (I can to every other window in the house – why did that cat have to choose THAT spot?!) so I’ve been trying to train him to stay away. Fail. I’ve taken the easy, lazy way out I’m afraid – I’ve taped material to the window frame. That’ll do til I can sort out something permanent. I had no idea that hearing constant barking, then the constant tellings off, could leave me so tired 😀

The view from the window has been blocked for two days and I have peace! The window looks awful but I don’t care 😀 We had a routine going before Cat Stress, hopefully I can get back to it now. I will have time to sit and read my book, do a bit of crochet and flit about on the internet. I found more bits of yarn, added them to my Bits Basket and made a blanket for Scampi. It’s meant to be – and is mostly! – a semi-circle, it’s the first one I’ve made and I must’ve miscounted the stitches slighty, the straight edge isn’t 😀 Trying to get him to sit still and pose is impossible so I’ve quickly snapped these two photos

DSCN0252

DSCN0253

I’ve still got lots of bits left, so I started this (for the dog, again!) but had to abandon it while the Cat Stress took over. I’ll get back to it later today. Just as I took this photo, he grabbed the yarn and made off with it, a second later and the blanket was ruffled and I’d have only managed to capture about a quarter of it, lol

DSCN0255

Entry filed under: Blankets, Crochet, Dog, Pets, Scampi, Yarn. Tags: , , , , , .

Exhausted! A Bit Of Crochet

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. The Snail of Happiness  |  Wednesday, 27th May 2015 at 3:16 pm

    Poor Scampi – poor you – naughty cat! Terriers seem to have a little switch in their brain about some things and it’s just impossible to turn them off. Still – it looks like he loves his blanky 🙂

    Reply
    • 2. MollyBean  |  Wednesday, 27th May 2015 at 4:07 pm

      He also had a problem with magpies and pigeons but they don’t bother him so much now. I think the cat issue is probably for life 😀 My sanity – and his! – has been saved by a tatty piece of material and a Kong, lol

      Reply
      • 3. The Snail of Happiness  |  Wednesday, 27th May 2015 at 4:22 pm

        Kongs are the only toys that Sam cannot destroy!

  • 4. Mrs P  |  Wednesday, 27th May 2015 at 4:12 pm

    How old is Scampi now ? I sure know what you mean about the training I’m sure K9 has either gone deaf or ignorant ..or both as far as his training is concerned.
    I think a piece of material & a kong is a small price to pay for some relief from cat stress, LOVING the blanket ❤ ❤ ❤

    Reply
    • 5. MollyBean  |  Wednesday, 27th May 2015 at 4:27 pm

      Thanks 🙂 He’s nine months old and VERY good at tricking you – he learns something, does it for two weeks then acts like you’ve never taught him! He has that ‘interested’ look on his face – “ooooh, what’s that then?” – as if you’ve just told him something new, lol.

      Reply
      • 6. Mrs P  |  Wednesday, 27th May 2015 at 4:34 pm

        Has ‘adolescence’ crept in yet?
        Scampi has THE most adorable expression AKA ‘butter wouldn’t melt’ LOL

  • 7. MollyBean  |  Wednesday, 27th May 2015 at 4:29 pm

    This is annoying – once there’s two replies to a comment you can’t add more! All toys have lasted about three days at most, the kong is the only survivor 😀

    Reply
  • 8. ceredigioncrochet  |  Thursday, 28th May 2015 at 10:51 pm

    Scampi looks like such a cutie and it seems he has a strong personality already. I love his colourful blanket : )

    Reply
    • 9. MollyBean  |  Sunday, 31st May 2015 at 9:47 am

      Thank you! x

      Reply
  • 10. Nadine Roberts  |  Saturday, 20th June 2015 at 4:55 pm

    I am afraid I am going to have to do something like this SOON. We only moved from the back yard to the front yard. However, that means the dogs (St Bernard, Jack Russell terrier and Dachshund) see everything that goes on in the neighborhood and tell us loudly all hours of the day and night.

    Reply
    • 11. MollyBean  |  Wednesday, 24th June 2015 at 6:34 pm

      It really did save my sanity! I bought a blind and a certain someone promised to put up, but it still hasn’t been done so the tatty material is still there 😀

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


MollyBean on Facebook

Blog Stats

  • 7,035 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 114 other followers

Calendar

May 2015
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

