Progress

Sunday, 8th November 2015 at 7:12 am 3 comments

What’s that, then? I looked it up –

1. A movement toward a goal or to a further or higher stage

2. Growth or development; continuous improvement

3. Forward or onward movement

So, the complete opposite of me during the past few months 😀

Scampi Dog was great in the house and garden but awful on walks. After a while he started to walk nicely on the lead, decided it was too much effort and went back to barking and pulling at everything that moved. I’ve met many dog walkers and they all told me of their training struggles and what finally worked for them. I’d go home (after another disastrous walk) full of enthusiam, determined that this latest bit of advice will be the thing that works. And it does – for about a week, then we’re back to square one. It’s like he thinks “done that, bored now”! So I admitted defeat and contacted a behaviourist. I explained what was going on and she was full of ideas. She also said she didn’t think she’d need to visit us, what I’d described is so common in rescue dogs and I can probably sort this out by myself. Wrong, I thought! But after a few struggles, Scampi proved her right. We still went backwards sometimes and I couldn’t cope very well with his pulling and sometimes yanking on the lead, but the barking at everything that moves has mostly stopped. Except pushbikes, he still hates them! I bought a Halti headcollar and the pulling has stopped. We’re not quite there yet, but he’s much calmer now.

So, crochet. I’d almost forgotten what it is 😀 I have three Christmas cushion covers to finish and a half-made baby blanket. Also a jumper which is about a third done. I have no pattern and have never made a jumper before, I’m making it up as I go. I’ll definitely finish it but I’m not yet sure whether it’ll ever be worn, it’s not looking good, lol.

Entry filed under: Crochet, Dog. Tags: , .

Settling Down Promises, promises….

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. knittingwithheart  |  Sunday, 8th November 2015 at 8:04 am

    Glad to hear Scampi is adjusting and hope you get time to finish all your crochet projects. Looking forward to seeing pics of that jumper you’re designing! 🙂 ♥ ❤

    Reply
  • 2. Nadine Roberts  |  Sunday, 8th November 2015 at 1:13 pm

    Poor thing, sometimes life gets in the way of crochet. Then you wake up and realize you haven’t done it in awhile and pick it up and it is like returning to an old friend.

    Reply
  • 3. Mrs P  |  Monday, 9th November 2015 at 6:07 pm

    I know what you mean …pups seriously mess with precious crafting time !!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


MollyBean on Facebook

Blog Stats

  • 6,988 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 116 other followers

Calendar

November 2015
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Jan »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

